Samuel L. Jackson Confirms He Won’t Play Nick Fury In Avengers: Infinity War And Its Sequel

Samuel L. Jackson played a big role in the Marvel Cinematic Universe as the director of SHIELD himself, Nick Fury. In Phase One, he was the one that united the Avengers, appearing in every movie of that phase, with the exception of The Incredible Hulk. In Phase Two, his reign as director ended when SHIELD fell in Captain America: The Winter Soldier, but still managed to lend a hand and also a full helicarrier in Avengers: Age of Ultron. He hasn’t appeared in a Marvel movie since. And with the exception of Captain Marvel, he won’t star in one again as of yet. Despite many rumors, many fans will be disappointed to hear that Samuel L. Jackson himself confirmed that he won’t be playing his role of Nick Fury in Avengers: Infinity War and its untitled sequel, in an interview with Yahoo Movies.

“I wasn’t in the ‘superhero argument’ movie [‘Captain America: Civil War’], I’m not in ‘Avengers 3 and 4’. They’re shooting them now, and they haven’t called me yet. They wouldn’t let me go to ‘Black Panther’-ville, so it’s kinda like how you gonna make a black Marvel movie and not let Nick Fury show up in it?!”

It seems Samuel L. Jackson is as displeased as many that he won’t get to play his iconic role in Black Panther and the next two Avengers installments. It seems fair that man responsible for uniting Marvel’s iconic team should be featured in the epic battle against Thanos which has been built up to since the first Avengers movie. But at least he’s still confirmed to co-star with Brie Larson in Captain Marvel, where she plays the titular character.

Avengers: Infinity War is directed by Anthony and Joe Russo and it stars Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Bettany, Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Bradley Cooper, Vin Diesel, Pom Klementieff, Karen Gillan, Sean Gunn, Benedict Cumberbatch, Tom Holland, Sebastian Stan, Chadwick Boseman, Samuel L. Jackson, Cobie Smulders, Benedict Wong, Tom Hiddleston, Tessa Thompson, Benicio Del Toro, Danai Gurira and Josh Brolin.

As the Avengers and their allies have continued to protect the world from threats too large for any one hero to handle, a new danger has emerged from the cosmic shadows: Thanos. A despot of intergalactic infamy, his goal is to collect all six Infinity Stones, artifacts of unimaginable power, and use them to inflict his twisted will on all of reality. Everything the Avengers have fought for has led up to this moment – the fate of Earth and existence itself has never been more uncertain.

The film is set to release on May 4, 2018.

Written by: Miguel Coelho

Source: Heroic Hollywood

For more marvel-related news, be sure to follow Geek Motivation (@GEEKMOTIVATION) or me (@Miguel420Coelho).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s